curns' corner

By curns

Wow. I should have known that today would be hot and sticky. It was difficult to sleep last night because of the heat. PY had to be up early as there was some kind of team event that necessitated an early arrival. Maybe this is the summer day. The outside thermometer got to 35 degrees again but, somehow, this felt hotter because there as not air. By the end of the day I’d plugged the fan in and that added a nice little breeze.  

I got a quick call in with one of the developers about some documentation I want to finish in advance of leaving. I also looked again at the new documentation portal and remain confused as to the purpose. It has some holding materials which will be sufficient until somebody has time to address them.

While I ate my lunch, I attended an HMRC online tax seminar. I want to better understand how I should declare the money that comes in from renting out the Spanish apartment. I say ‘money that comes in’ but there isn’t any. It just about covers costs as long as it’s not taxed in two places. And I can’t work out what I should declare to whom. I’m sure I paid too much tax last year.

The train into town was oven like. It was one of the older trains with no air-conditioning and just windows that open. Unfortunately, the windows slammed closed with every train passing on the higher speed lines. 

Arriving in town was interesting. Suddenly, anywhere with the tiniest of outdoor space was packed.  Unsurprising given the warmth but also lovely to see. Took a moment to find Cornelia in the bay which was packed (she hadn’t actually arrived but after I’d walked round once looking, she was there). 

Drinks with C is always fun. I saw the ITV promo video that was recorded with Alex. It’s quite impressive because when you combine at tech business with the sparkle of aTV business then everything looks great. 

Towards the end of the evening she was approached by a guy who claimed - and I have no reason to doubt - to be a bodyguard. I had quite a moment working out if I should stay around or leave them to it. His mate was a bit to “let’s go” which made me stay. C was quite conformable with whole thing although they exchanged numbers and I have no idea where it would lead. A fun evening even if, being inside the bar was cooler than being outside. 

Train home left before midnight which is always a small win on a night out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.