talloplanic views

By Arell

Counterparts

While my friend @BikerBabe was riding her motorbike across the country to photograph an old Lion Foundry bandstand, I was riding my motorbike across the town to collect a few more bits of wooden pallet for my outdoor workbench project. It turns out that you can transport 1200mm stock on the back of a motorbike OK, but it's a bit footery. It was really warm outside too, and the traffic was mental, so I was really quite glad to get home to peel off my leathers and have an enormous cup of tea.

Since tomorrow's forecast is for it to be rather less scorchio, after lunch I had a pleasant cycle over to Musselburgh's Lewisvale Park to photograph the old bandstand. It's a 1913 Lion Foundry model no.37, not no.23, but it has many of the same sorts of artistic flourishes. There are so few of these things remaining that every one of them is worth keeping.

The little girl who gave me directions to the park told me there is an old abandoned hospital not far away. The NLS informs me it's Edenhall Hospital, which I never knew about, so a future blipportunity awaits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.