talloplanic views

By Arell

It's plane to see

It's been a day for woodworking. Well, woodpreparing perhaps; nothing so much as really making anything yet, although in between lots of brainular effort in mentally redesigning the bench, I did construct a cutting jig for my circular saw. I was quite pleased that its right-angularity measured 90 degrees exactly.

But I did do a lot of planing of wood. A couple of the bits from yesterday were a little shonky, probably the ones I didn't buy the first time around, but it's not a huge deal because I plan to cut the ends into tenons anyway and I need them reasonably flat for marking out. These shavings off my big and very old wooden plane are probably the best it's ever made. Waste not, want not, as they say, so I'll add them to the kindling pile for the wood burner.

Salad and a slab of gammon for dinner with Mum and Dad today, and then a nice ride home in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.