Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

The new toy

The only other sewing machine I have owned is now nearly 50 years old - it was an 18th (or was it 21st?) birthday present from my grandmother.  It has given exemplary service, and is still going well, though it needs a little TLC for which it is currently in the sewing machine shop.  It was difficult to allow myself to buy a new one - it felt quite disloyal.

But after playing with this actually quite basic electronic one today, I am quite enjoying it. 
Quieter, easier to control, many more functions than my old machine.  Will it last 50 years?  Highly unlikely, but then, nor will I. 

Today I played with some of the many functions, whilst quilting two more strips of the cranky quilt.

Meanwhile, W chopped down a bit of the hedge beside the patio, and did a bit of weeding.  But it's been another hot, muggy day - not the best for working outside.  He also baked soda bread.

We had dinner outside on the patio - a lovely salad with grilled halloumi cheese slices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.