Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Me beside my two favourite girls

Had a day trip to Northallerton today.  Set off to get the bus at 9am.  I had checked on the app that it was due... but it didn't come.  Next one was in 20 mins.  I waited a while but it was raining and even though I had a brolly my coat was getting wet -- so I nipped back home to change into a dry coat then I walked to the next bus stop which has a shelter,  Next bus came on time. Got to the railways station in good time for my train.which left at 10.30am.

I had a large suitcase with me even though it was only a day trip.  I was meeting Becky , Mike and Astrid and the suitcase was full of clothes I have been buying over the last few months --- for Astrid.  B,M and A have had a long weekend in Yorkshire and Northallerton was a handy place to meet up before they drove back to Sussex today - its only 45 mins on the train from Newcastle.

They all met me at the station and we had a wander around Northallerton.  Its many years since Ive been there but it hasn't changed much.  We had intended going to Bettys Tearooms for lunch but there was a big queue outside ( we really should have booked ) so we went to the cafe in Barkers ( a posh department store ).  I had fish and chips. 

My blip shot was taken outside Barkers just before they left to go home.  The Mono Monday theme is " beside ".  Thanks to Kersko for hosting. Ive added an Extra collage of a few more photos of Astrid. She's talking a lot more now and is so cute.

After B.M and A had gone I had about an hour to wait before my train home so I looked in a few shops - took some photos of Yorkshire themed food -- see Extra collage.  I sat on a bench  and listened to a busker playing the trumpet,  He was very good.  Im fond of brass band music so I really enjoyed listening to him for around half an hour.

My train journey back to Newcastle and onward bus journey to my village were trouble free.  And I didn't have the huge suitcase on the return journey which was a bonus.  Becky has looked at all the clothes at home and she likes everything.

Weather today was wet in the North East and dry in Northallerton. 

Steps today - 13,348

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.