A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Gather

After everyone departed this morning Grace and I went to the next village, Batheaston, to have brunch at Gather (Chris and I were there last month).  This was a treat as it would be the only time we would get to go out together without the children.

We enjoyed our rather substantial Croque Monsieur and Madame (same with an egg on top)

We had to get back then as Grace was being picked up to go to the Theatre Royal for a dress rehearsal prior to the first performance of Oliver tonight.

I had to stay in till 1.00 when the cleaners were due as they didn’t have a key. I then set off to walk into Bath. After a bit of rain this morning it had felt fresher but it seemed quite muggy and warm again on my walk.
I wanted to revisit the shop at the Victoria Art Gallery, after which I had a cuppa and a piece of cake in the cafe on Pulteney Bridge overlooking the weir on the R Avon. The open window provided a bit of air.

When Mambo visited Bath last week she photographed ladies in Jane Austin style dress. I said I hadn’t seen this outside of the Jane Austin centre here but as I sat there several people in costume passed by on the bridge. There were a couple more when I got outside and then I saw two by the Abbey somewhat incongruously using their mobile phones!

Found out that Gaia is coming to the Abbey later in the month so might get to see it when we are down in October.

In the extra you can see Grace in costume, I’m only showing it as to my astonishment she is wearing a velvet bolero that I made in my teens! I remember the trouble I had with the eyelets. I’d no idea she had it. I hope it survives the show without falling apart!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.