Teasel

By Teasel

Portland

I had planned to go for a run this morning, but I was feeling a bit ropey, so I stayed in bed.  Nothing serious, just an upset stomach.  We had  a slow morning.  I was just gearing myself to walk into Axminster, when the rain started.  It got heavier, so I abandoned my plan to walk to the supermarket to pick up some things for brunch.  In the end we drove.  By lunchtime the rain had gone off and it had brightened somewhat, so we made half a plan and drove to Portland.
 
Our first stop was the castle. Portland is very exposed and  it was windy, not particularly cold, but quite windy.  The castle was very busy, but we had  a look around and spotted a baptismal ceremony (at least that’s what we think it was) taking place in the bay outside the castle.  There was no sign of the Bibby Stockholm in the harbour, but it must be further round, out of sight.  After visiting the castle, we drove south to Portland Bill.  It was very windy there.  Windy and wild, with big crashing waves – all very dramatic and bracing.  It was quite mesmeric watching the waves.  I dismayed at he people who thought it was fun to clamber down on to the rocks and jump away to escape them.
 
We had a wander along the coast, but didn’t go too far as it was so very windy.  Once home, I went out for a walk, as I didn’t even have 10,000 steps.  I got my steps and TT cobbled tea together from what he could find in the fridge.  Later there was more Mapp and Lucia.
 
The bleak view at Portland.   The winch is a remnant of the Portland stone industry.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.