JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

A walk to Stanage Edge

An old friend of mine coordinates a loosely-organized women's walking group, meeting once a month.  We take turns to choose and lead each walk, adapting to seasons and weather conditions. And to our various health variations and challenges.
Today's plan was for a walk from Hathersage up to Stanage Edge and back. We were lucky with the weather: after yesterday's heavy rain, today was bright and sunny, with an autumnal nip in the air. Perfect conditions for a walk that required some steady climbs.
The friend organizing today's walk had kindly identified some interim points where I'd be able to opt for a shorter route, if I needed to. This turned out well: I was able to walk for a couple of hours comfortably and then head back to a car park where Richard picked me up. I was due to meet Eben from school anyway, and so I needed to allow time to get back for that.
So here's Stanage Edge in the background, with its tumbling shapes of millstone grit, beloved of climbers. Beneath the Edge, small colour changes are already signalling the arrival of autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.