Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Viaduct View

It was about 1.30pm before we got out and decided on a walk around Ledbury town which is just over twenty minutes from home.

This week's W-I-D-E on Wednesday Challenge theme is ' a classical landscape' hosted by Steveng, and after a while I eventually found the now defuncy viaduct on the outskirts of town. I'd only seen a photo' of it, so it was good to take my own photo' of it, something I'd been wanting to do for a while. 

It was built in 1860 for The Hereford & Worcester Railway. It's made of 5 million bricks and is 19 metres high, with 31 arches, and 301 metres long!It closed on 11th July 1959 and is now Grade 2 listed.  The extra shows an overhead view.

After a walk around the town and got home about 5pm where our friends from The Costwolds popped in, followed by some neighbours. I managed to cut the grass in between as I think rain is on the cards tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.