Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The last of the butterflies?

We have had the highest number of butterflies recorded in the UK since 2019, apparently the mixed summer of sunshine and rain has helped - Red Admirals dominated with an increase of 338% since last year! This is probably one of the last ones to be seen in my garden this summer, I think it's a Brimstone on a very tatty Aster.

Last night the dinner was very enjoyable but it was a late night by the time we found a taxi to get back to Gavin's office and could drive home. I sat next to some very interesting people - one was the cousin of the famous photographer David Yarrow and when I mentioned I admire his work and have followed his career, he said he would arrange a dinner so I could meet him. I am sure it was just the wine talking! On my other side was somebody from the Edinburgh office who has organised a corporate evening and private viewing of the new Grayson Perry exhibition at the National Galleries of Scotland, and he invited me to that - again, not sure if he was being serious!

Xena was walked and also had a quick visit to the dog parlour to get her nails cut. Gavin used to cut them but doesn't like doing it as it is too easy to cut into the vein under the nail, so our local dog parlour does it for us quickly and efficiently.

I did quite a few loads of washing, packed and then made a salmon dish for Luke so when he arrives at the house today he will not have to bother with cooking himself supper. He has been away in Essex on a work strategy session so he has not had time to get himself organised. Meriel will only come stay at the house tomorrow night after the football, she is a very keen Sunderland supporter and goes to many of their matches.

We are about to drive to The Grove in Watford, its only just over an hour away, for the annual company weekend. I thought it best to post my blip now as once I get there I know I won't have time to do so. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.