Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Oystercatchers

I planned to go back to Lymington today, it being perhaps the last of these really beautiful days!  Mind you, when my alarm went off - very early - there was a thick mist, which I just had to hope would clear.  It felt a bit bonkers catching a train in that weather, but I went.  And of course the sun burned through.

Once there and on the sea wall a big chunk of time was spent blipping these oystercatchers, who were actually after small crabs, not oysters.  What I loved was mother OC giving her young one a careful lesson in how to find breakfast.  Mum is the one with the bright red eye - if you notice, the youngster has much browner eyes and paler legs.  Even the beak hasn't become fully orange.  I've put a second shot in extras.

So that was the exciting part of my day.  The rest was pretty mundane and honestly not worth reporting.

Have a fun weekend, dear blippers  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.