The Next Chapter!

By carol_dunham

HODs

…………………….weekend, or Heritage Open Doors.

I had to have bloods done this morning so caught the bus over in the absence of my car and as I’d been asked to pick the wee one up from nursery decided to spend my time visiting places not otherwise open.

I’d booked a behind stage tour of the Maltings our local theatre for 2pm so had about 21/2 hours to fill. I started in the library at an exhibition by the archivists part of which was a very good newspaper article detailing the many pubs of Wooler (where I grew up) which had been written in 1970…of course there have been several more changes since the article was written. Time for a cuppa and cake in the visitor centre before perusing their photo exhibition after which it was a look round the nearby St Andrews Church with its many stained glass windows. Next came the magistrates court, hopefully the only time I need to visit! The back stage visit to the Maltings was very interesting as next year the building will be remodelled and extended to better serve the viewing public and the artistes performing there.

Time to pick up the wee one then we had to walk back down through Berwick via the ice house to find the car. After his first full week at nursery he was beyond exhausted and flaked out before we got home. I let him sleep about an hour so it could be some time before I get him to bed but hopefully he’ll sleep in tomorrow morning.

I found my honeysuckle blip over in Berwick, thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.