The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Common blue

A male common blue butterfly perched on the male inflorescence of salad burnet, Heathwaite, Arnside Knott. It was early in the morning, a few butterflies were freshly emerged, and the sun had disappeared behind cloud - conditions were good for getting close to otherwise flighty insects.

While Wifie was on the second day of her Tai Chi weekend, I had a stay-at-home day, working on the garden. In the heat of the afternoon, Reggie appeared on the lawn, the first time I had seen him for a few days. At least one of the blackbird broods has been successful, as there were several big chicks calling noisily from their perches. I have some photographs of a distinctive looking hoverfly (Leucozona lucorum) that was laying its eggs amongst greenfly, I need to work out what it was, and I shall be looking out for the emergence of the larvae.

After lunch I called an old friend and colleague to whom I have not spoken to for 20 years. A lot has happened in our lives in that time, but the years in between melted away as we talked. Next we need to find an opportunity to meet up.

Gus needs his evening walk, but it is raining. Amazing how a few dry days make us forget about rain, I shall have to put a coat on.

Spare a thought for Emyjane, who is missing her beloved Little Larry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.