Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Festival

It is the closing weekend of Saltaire Festival so I headed down to Roberts Park to catch a few bands before (and after) the football.

Keighley band Goo opened the main stage and wore their Sonic Youth and My Bloody Valentine influences well. Then Saltaire’s own Gurgles took us in a different musical direction - kind of Bob James meets Prefab Sprout with a sprinkling of KLF - with frontman Augustin Bousfield wielding his keytar (main image) mid set. (Incidentally I knew of Gurgles via tweets from Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley who I spotted in the audience - of about 20- so said hello.) I also caught most of sets by Flat Moon and Sooner or Later, as well as bits of The Boogiemen and 15yo’s friends and classmates Dynamic Shift.

The trip into see the football was almost incidental, given I returned to the festival. City were hosting Harrogate Town and rescued a point with a late equaliser after another insipid performance. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.