Bom

By Bom

The Holt Spiv

I set off this morning to go to the 1940’s events at the field next to Holt station. Unfortunately I hadn’t even walked half way there when I decided it wasn’t a good idea. I twisted my knee slightly yesterday, and realised that three hours of walking and standing was too much. So I went into town instead for a paper. This delightful gentleman was waiting outside the newsagents for a bus to the station. I asked to take his photo and he not only agreed, but told me he was known as the Holt spiv and opened up his little case of spiv goodies including chocolate, nylons and Canadian whisky for the photo. We had a nice little chat, agreeing what a shame it is that Holt town centre no longer joins in the 1940’s festivities like they did before the pandemic. When I got home I made sure I set a reminder to see the Lancaster bomber go over again. I knew I wouldn’t get good shots like yesterday, but I’ve included an Extra to give you an indication of how low it was - taken from my front porch and the lamppost is across the street. Just caught up with some ironing this afternoon and watched several episodes of Wilderness on Prime (very good). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.