gennepher

By gennepher

Painting

I had to go to my insurance company this week to sort something. So I went down this morning.
Wales is now 20mph, from the previous 30 mph, as from yesterday.
But my car Sat Nav and Google Maps say it is still 30 mph.
I approach my steep hill with trepidation. Traffic is doing its usual 30 or 40 mph (speeding), on the steep hill.
I do 19/20 mph.
Traffic overtakes me.
Nothing is doing the new regulatory 20 mph.
I get to the High Street. Traffic at gridlock. No reason for it.
I say forget the insurance company at this point. I am not wasting an hour of my time stuck in traffic, and mentally earmark a different day and time.

Turn round and come home. Again I do not see one car, and there were a lot of cars on the road, sticking to 20 or close to it.
Only Muggins here stuck to the new 20 mph limit...
My neighbourhood online site had various people inciting civil disobedience to this 20 mph, and some said that the 20mph signs were put up last night under the cover of darkness, and they were immediately vandalised.
I did not see one 20mph sign this morning...

Thee problem with this area is that it is a conurbation of several towns which have all merged in to each other, and add to that the outlying villages which also have converged/merged into this conurbation. This now makes a very long and wide area which is now all 20mph, and no respite from it.

I do have plans to go out this week, and it includes escaping this area of Wales at the earliest possible point, and shopping in England.

This confusion of the inconsistency of the relevant mph in this area of Wales has to be sorted before I will do any serious driving in it.


Nighttime wildlife cameras...
This is Boy Badger (this year's cub) & often arrives with this fox
40secs
https://youtu.be/NIBt-9FhfgI?si=Un5cd5ZP-GfnoT3T


Creative. Finally managed to create a space for painting in the garage (still loads and loads of sorting and tidying to do, but that is a later date now.) Used some paints I mixed up 3 years ago. A4 page out of a sketch book. And some black chinese ink and an oldcredit card to draw the tree...

Nap time now, and then I might go in garage and do tomorrow's painting....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.