gennepher

By gennepher

Rose petal

Yesterday afternoon there was a heck of a murderous racket outside my bedroom door. I rushed out (as much as I can rush) and came face to face with a female kestrel. But she hadn't caught a sparrow. The sparrows had been on the feeders feeding. And they slid further into the leafy bushes besides the feeders and went silent while the female kestrel and I both looked at each other. She looked startled, then she flew away. She was magnificent close up...maybe a young one still figuring out how to hunt? She had been thrashing in the leafy bushes trying to get a sparrow OR the sparrows had been the ones thrashing about en masse protecting their own. I have a feeling it was the latter.

Those sparrows can make a heck of a racket thrashing their wings against the leaves in the bushes. If they catch me unawares when they do that, I feel like I am in a Alfred Hitchcock bird movie...

Then my garden was quieter than a graveyard. It lasted about an hour, and then the noisy sparrows came back out and began feeding and play fighting again....

Wildlife nighttime camera.

Boy Badger gets clout from Midnight - Midnight comes indoors so Boy Badger tries again to sniff swing.

​Boy Badger appears to have the same obsession about/for Midnight like his father, Pa Badger did. This is not just about food, but the scent (I am assuming this) of the cat on the blankets/cloths he sleeps on.

50 secs

https://youtu.be/0DYm0sABWdQ?si=whbcifIrfCG0J7Ne


Creative - my day didn't go as planned yesterday morning and so I was very tired when I got home, and fell into a deep sleep for a few hours, and so I didn't have the time nor energy to finish the garage and my painting studio.

So, another photo today...a fallen Rosa rugosa flower petal.

Really dark now in mornings and evenings, especially on a low cloud cover day. It feels like the winter nights are here...I am quite high up, and on dull days I can de in the cloud cover.

Have your best day.

A coffee to take to the garage...


I will play catch-up on your comments & posts later today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.