gennepher

By gennepher

Acrylics

I went out in the car just now, only to the postbox, to post some postcards. Traffic is still speeding at 40ph down my previous 30mph hill - it is the rat run from the Expressway, and they think they are exempt...
The speed limit on Satnav still says 30mph.
And yet this area is now a 20mph, according to the government site,
The leaflet, that only came through the door this last Friday, has the instruction, if no speed limit signage then assume 20mph as soon as you see street lamps. But no info on how near together or far apart the street lamps had to be.

This has the unfortunate consequence of some vehicles coming into Wales on the main dual carriageway dropping to 20 mph. And to be fair, the street lamps are much closer together in that busy area. But, they might have only been following what their Satnavs said the speed limit was. My Satnav does not show the correct speed limit yet, and on one stretch of road in a built up area my Satnav shows 70mph , when it is patently 20 mph because of shops & houses & street lamps.

When is Wales going to get its act together?They tell us all/most 30 mph are now to be 20 mph, but they cannot get their speed limit software correct for people driving the road. Is Wales too broke to carry out all the necessary for this 20mph? Or is it my county which is broke (it is), and they cannot carry out everything needed to alter the signage and software info to our Satnavs for 20 mph?

There are several instances where I go straight from 20mph to a 70mph or a 50mph main busy dual carriageway and the approach road is so short it is not possible to get the speed up to join the busy traffic. This is not safe. The county local government site says they are applying for, but haven't applied yet, for an exemption for a few hundred metres of 30mph at these points.

Not applied for yet?

How bungled up is this changeover from 30mph to 20mph?

I told myself I was not going to write another post on this.

But I have. I apologise if you have heard too much about this.

The thought occurs to me, how easy it would be to bring a country to its knees if you got control of their Satnav software. I hope they have good security in place...


Nighttime wildlife cameras
Badger tries very hard to get on the swing.
Like father, like son.
This is boy badger.
Why is there this fixation to get on the swing by Pa Badger and his son?
27 secs

https://youtube.com/shorts/m7QwsehRQe4?si=KWkNdviwf9uhYIVP


Creative. I went in the garage yesterday, and painted this...in acrylics & Chinese black ink for the tree.

Enjoy...

Now time for breakfast...I am hungry after writing this.

Take care.

Have a good day despite bureaucracy....difficult in this day and age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.