The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Dragons - Unplanned WWT Visit

Another gloriously sunny day, and after a day sat in front of the tele-box it was time to get out and get some fresh air. The original plan was to go down to Kenfig Nature Reserve as I have never had a day out there. Kenfig NR is one of the best places in the UK never mind Wales to see Dragonflies and Damselflies. We got there and it was mobbed, we couldn't find a single place to park, so we gave up.

We were half way to Llanelli WWT so we decided to have a couple of hours there instead. I am so glad I did! It really wasn't a birding day, although I did tick off a lovely female Spotted Flycatcher hawking insects from a branch.

What it was though was a fantastic insecting day! I took my 300mm lens, and was soon regretting not taking my short or macro lenses, although I would have had no hope of getting this Female Broad Bodied Chaser with the short lens, they don't need much encouragement to fly off.

I'm rather pleased with this one. I rarely go out to get a shot, but I did today. I wanted to get a good dragonfly shot whilst the sun was shining, I think I achieved that.

Some others I am rather chuffed with from the day, any of which could have been my blip.

Common Blue Damselfly

Flying Hoverfly

Hairy Dragonfly (I think - I know it's a scarcity but it fits the description in my book).

Ambush Spider

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.