The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Duckling Day - Planned WWT Visit

After yesterdays random day at Llanelli WWT, today was a pre-planned visit to Slimbridge.

After the coldest spring for 50 years it was good to see natures ability to bounce back in full swing. The place was awash with chicks and gosling. This Oystercatcher chick was being taught how to feed by its mum.

There were loads of Everton mint striped Shelduck chicks on the various lakes. This photo at the end of the day a particular favourite of mine.

There was a mandatory ugly duckling in the shape of a Mute Swan Cygnet.

This Wren was not only nearly my blip today, but was also feeding a number of young fledged Wrens in the hedgerow.

Moorhen chicks with their infeasibly large feet were everywhere.

And I finally saw my first Mallard duckling of 2o13! It's been a long wait!

Finally, there was one bit of drama whilst I was there. One of the captive cranes had caught a poor unfortunate mole and was trying to figure out how to eat it. This was also going to be my blip, but I thought it might put a few of you off coming back!

All in all a pretty good visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.