The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

S is for ... Superstar DJ

I told you I was bit by the Hay Festival bug last week. One week after my drenching last week I was back on the festival site, but this time as a visitor not a RSPB volunteer.

We took my dad and mum up to see Jeremy Vine this morning. Casual readers of this blog may not know the connection between my dad and Jeremy Vine. My dad appears on the show roughly every two weeks live from his allotment in the Rhondda. He's been doing this pretty much since Jeremy Vine took over the lunchtime Radio 2 discussion show about nine years ago.

My dad was supposed to be doing a talk today, but due to the horrendous weather over the past few days, the field in which the show was being held was flooded, and the event cancelled. So we got him an early fathers day present.

Jeremy Vine was highly entertaining, and was recounting tales of his twenty five years at the BBC. There were quite a few laughs to be had and a lot of stories to tell as you can imagine.

We managed to have a good chat with him after his talk, and he is great company. I have met him once before up on the allotment many years ago.

Next year I am going to plan a proper visit to Hay and see a few more talks. It was a fascinating couple of days there this week and last. It's good food for the brain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.