Grandma's House

A great night's sleep, chat and omelette and then a superb walk along the beach watching the cormorants and the terns.

Such a lovely morning.

After leaving Allan I mooched around Dunbar, visiting the John Muir birthplace (my ancestors are the OTHER Dunbar Muirs - William, also born 1838, George, my 2 x great grandfather born 1845. He also went to the US, married in New York, but returned to East Lothian.) then drove up through Spott, Stenton, Garvald and Gifford.

I stayed a few times in Stenton, in my great grandmother's house. Now it's been bought and Uncle Sandy's wonderful veg garden bordering on fields is half built over. Beautiful lilac tree though.

Home to a seat in the sunny garden and a glass of wine. #2 son is about to move in, temporarily. There will be 3, or 4, of us living here soon. My niece has bought a house, my nephew is just about to finalise buying a flat - MY kids - well ....But then they are grown up and, as he said, they don't need their dad. Just as well they've got their mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.