Marionb

By Marionb

Oh, Frivolous Me...

What was I thinking? 

While I was driving home from the cottage, I listened to a CBC radio interview with the author of this book Recipes For Murder..a book in which she has researched and recreated recipes based on each one of the novels of Agatha Christie.... Now, how weird is that? But also, how fascinating!  Of course, on a whim, I ordered the book when I arrived home. 

Now how frivolous is that? First of all I don't cook...well any more than I have to...and secondly I have not read every one of Agatha Christie's books so how would I really appreciate the significance of each recipe? But upon leafing through it quickly, I see that she gives background and quotes and as October is approaching and I was digging out autumn decor items for consideration, I took particular note of the one she had chosen for Hallowe'en! Jack-o-Lantern Deviled Eggs...from the book Hallowe'en Party, 1969.. well, that one might be fun! I just might try that...This book might turn out to be a good purchase after all! 

I spent some time today preparing for our next book club meeting later this week.This month's book is Greenwood  by Michael Christie  (no relation to Agatha) and has lots of potential for discussion, so it should be an interesting meeting. I am hosting this one, and usually it is an easy task...but this time, just finalizing the time of day was like herding cats! How could getting four retired people together in a room at the same time be that difficult? One of them has to come by zoom from another time zone, but even so.... In the end, persistence and negotiation skills paid off and we are set to go on Thursday at 4:00! Whew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.