Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Hunter

These dainty little odes are aptly named Autumn Meadowhawks and they are abundant this time of year.  They hunt from perches and can fairly easily be coaxed onto a finger.  This one, a female, kept zipping out to try to catch something, always returning to my finger.  It's kind of delightful to be walking around with a tiny dragon on your finger!  And a good entry for TinyTuesday (thanks JDO for hosting.)

I evidently got a little ahead of myself in thinking that the Methotrexate was already working.  Woke up this morning with a heap of pain and a big side of fatigue just to round out the menu.  I took Jax for a walk this morning but have otherwise been taking it easy.  Acetaminophen to manage the achy hands and feet.  And some quiet time in the garden because it's just good for my state of mind.  I keep reminding myself that this is going to take time.  

I found Miss Thing again in the garden - she was sitting on our utility box cleaning her face.  And I found a second big female mantis in my bigger pollinator garden.  I saw a slightly smaller one (presumably male) several days ago in the same cluster of asters so perhaps he will find his way to the other garden to visit Miss Thing.  

Stil have three hummers in the garden today.  I'll put one in Extra just so I have a record.  

And we got a call that the fencing contractor will be here next Monday to install our new fence - hurray!

Dark with peppermint again today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.