An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Specs change...

When I went to bed last night I felt wide awake and indeed I was.  Finally fell asleep just before 5am.  

Heard D getting up just after 7am and thought I would sleep on till my body decided to wake up rather than set my alarm.  That idea didn't last long as just as I was dozing off again I remembered we both had appointments at the opticians this morning, D to have his new contact lenses checked and me for the same and to pick up my new glasses.

I was looking forward to getting my new specs but slightly apprehensive too as I couldn't remember what style I'd ordered.  I'd originally wanted to replace my dark frames with more colourful ones but when I tried colourful frames on I looked like Timmy Mallet (thanks Withers :-)  Anyhoo, these frames have a little flash of colour on the front and turquoise legs and I am happy with that.  And thanks to the wonder of blip, I was able to find out that I got my last pair of new specs on 19th April 2017.  Of course I could just have asked the optician :-))

Home for lunch then tackling the next cupboard in Operation Clear-out.  This time the cupboard in the back hallway.  This cupboard has bi-fold doors to allow it to be fully opened up but is crammed so full of stuff that the doors only open wide enough to let you slip an arm in to get something! 

Through we went and spent almost 45 minutes emptying the damn thing; two hoovers, a steam mop, my crochet yarn stash ("you could open a bloody wool shop"  guess who said that ;-))) a mountain of picture frames, boxes and boxes of pre-digital family photos, some Christmas stuff and all the vases I possess ("you could open a bloody vase shop!" same question as before :-)) and loads of gift bags, and at last the bi-fold doors could be opened fully up.

The hoovers and mop were taken to the cupboard in the utility room.  No idea why there weren't there in the first place.  I consolidated my crochet yarn stash and it and the boxes of family photos were spirited away upstairs to the newly cleared out cupboards up there.  My yarn to the linen cupboard and the photos to the wee bedroom ensuite cupboard (recording that here incase I forget!  lol) 

The gift bags and vases were left on the shelves they occupied as they were tidy, the pile of picture frames were sorted according to size and stacked on the floor under the shelving units, so they are now easily accessible to me.  The Christmas stuff went back in on a shelf and all the art work we've bought over the last few years that's still to be displayed anywhere was tidied onto another shelf.  Framing and hanging that stuff is a job for another day.

What D did hang was a group of framed photos of aerial shots of this house left to us by the previous owners (taken years before we moved here so interesting to see how the house and garden looked) and two aerial shots of our last house (taken by a company who randomly flew over houses taking pics then their sales people would visit the photographed properties door to door, selling said pics)  I've been keen to get these up for ages so glad that job is now done :-)

Final job, my little studio / study.  First stage of that is complete but needs more work (mainly D's desk and surrounding floor but that's his job :-)

Quick dinner of pizza and salad and the last of my homemade coleslaw before D went to his group singing rehearsal and I started menu planning for afternoon tea here with two blippers on Friday (you'll have to wait to see who ;-)) and meals for when the golf widows descend on me next Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.  

Very, very windy here.  

To clarify, I mean outside.

:-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.