Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A Troop of Monkeys

A miserable day today - wet and windy. I spent most of the morning doing photographs - again - but after lunch decided that I had to get out, whatever the weather. 

I had to go down to the road anyway to put the recycling bin out, so I carried on round the block, which is reasonably flat. To save carrying the big camera I took my compact, after first making sure that it switched on. When I came to use it however, it refused to open - 'replace the battery pack'!

When I got home in spite of the rain I set up my Wollemi pine and took several pictures, not realising until I'd downloaded the pictures and prepared to Blip one of them that I'd Blipped it three months ago today! So back out for another wetting and another EB!

This is the second germination of local monkey puzzle seeds. I potted up quite a lot of them months ago and they're now six or seven inches tall. This lot came up in the pot a few weeks later.

Some of the bigger ones are going to the garden at Achamore, on the island of Gigha. Anyone else want to plant a monkey puzzle forest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.