Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Challenging

Today was really not a good day for outdoor photography.  However, to get my shot I caught an early bus into town before the rain began and just about made it.

These huge 19th century double doors have recently been given some extra paint by artist Hendog, Winchester's answer to Banksy.  The WidWed challenge proverb that came to mind was 'a foot in the door', but if you're going to argue that there are in fact two feet in the door, an alternative expression might be 'travelling light'.  (The light, I have to tell you, was dire today - certainly not photographers' light, but at least I only got wet once - when walking Hazel later).

Back to the doors - they close off what used to be the coal merchant's premises in Chesil Street, a business that's been defunct as long as I've lived here.  The whole building is rotting, so - if I'm allowed to do so - I'm also going to tag this for DerelictSunday.

Multiple thanks to steveng and Marlieske respectively for hosting these challenges this week.  And I hope you've all kept damp-free and had a good day  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.