Flossmo

By Flossmo

Sky

Back blip for yesterday:

The trip back was uneventful if a bit bumpy at times: there was quite a bit of turbulence en route and a rather rugged landing which made my bust jiggle alarmingly, much to Mr Flossmo's amusement. Annoyingly we were an hour late leaving Boston, made up thirty minutes in the air, and then lost the time again on the ground as there was no stand where we could 'dock'. A lot of passengers were on connecting flights and I imagine some didn't make it. At least for us that wasn't a problem. I met a lady in the check-in queue who had lost the first three days of her holiday due to the air-traffic control mess - it made our holiday annoyances seem very small. The photograph is of dawn from 34,000 feet over the Irish Sea.    

We arrived home to a noisy greeting from Sky. It was a sort of 'where on earth have you been' combined with a 'great to have you back'. She seems to have survived the experience although she is being a bit clingy at the moment. 

The good thing about a transatlantic flight from Boston is that it is mercifully short. The bad thing about a transatlantic flight from Boston is that it is so mercifully short that there is little time for sleep. It was made worse because it was two hours into the flight before dinner was served and I hadn't eaten for almost ten hours so I was hungry. In the end I scarcely managed a couple of hours of kip and not restorative sleep at that. So, by the time I was home, I was dog tired. Sky and I retired to bed. Mr Flossmo decided to tough it out and try and get back onto UK time. He said he looked in on us later and I was dead to the world with the cat spread out on my chest.  

I eventually got up, unpacked, did the washing and started to reassemble my life. Mr Flossmo spent an hour on the phone to the bank unravelling our credit card woes. It turned out that we hadn't validated the card before leaving the UK by using it at a 'major retailer in chip and pin mode' and that was the reason it was continually though not invariably being rejected. Mr Flossmo had to go through every transaction - accepted and rejected - with the bank to make sure that there was no attempted fraud. All was well. 

So, back to reality after an interesting time on the other side of the Pond. I think I need a holiday!    

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.