There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Beautiful Girl / Jazz Riff

My husband and I were out and about for the day, and an afternoon stop at Buffalo Run Park at the end of all of it gave him a chance for a jog, and me a chance for a walk and some photos.

I saw a huge field of goldenrod and I instantly knew I would see monarchs. And I did! Right out of the gate! There it was! But it was so far away, just a sliver of orange against the gold.

Zoom zoom zoom! Out went the zoom, and I got about a half-dozen shots off, as this gorgeous (and fresh!) female monarch displayed her wings for me. Soon she will be off on her amazing journey!

That was not the only wonderful thing, though. There is a little stream that runs through the park (now known as Benner Township Veterans Park, according to the sign), and as I crossed the wooden bridge, I spotted reflections on the creek.

Well, down I went onto that bridge, and I whipped out the camera and took (whistles nonchalantly, afraid to reveal the depths of obsession) 71 shots of the reflections I saw there. In the extras, you may see one of my faves.

The water took the sky and reflected and refracted it, playing something similar but something different each time, not unlike a jazz refrain. Repetition. Deviation. Repetition. Deviation. 

Ovals. Circles. Squares. Patterns. Intersections. Water and sky were dancing together. In the extras, you may see what we made playing together today: just me, my camera, the water, and the endless blue and white of a beautiful September sky.

I've got two photos and so here are two songs. For my beautiful girl above, I've picked the INXS song Beautiful Girl, which is a favorite tune that my husband sings to me.  :-) Big smiles from here!

For my jazz riff in the extras, I'll give you a Spyro Gyra tune. A male friend in college around 1984/85 was a big fan, and had tickets to see them when they came to town. He invited me along, so I have seen them live in the 80s. Here's Spyro Gyra, with Morning Dance. As it was released in the late 70s, it is entirely possible I saw them perform it live!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.