An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Spare a crumb for a starving dog...

Look at that face!  I call it her Oliver Twist face - please can I have some more?  I am starving and haven't been fed in forever, please feed me" expression!  She is such a mooch!  Yes, I know it's our own fault but I just can't resist her :-). She's watching me chopping a banana and yes I did save her some but it gets put in her food bowl.  

Well today has been very productive.  Left to my own devices I got loads done!

D was playing in a charity golf match so was away by 9am.  Tesco delivery arrived just before 9am.  Thankfully all complete and no substitutes.

That away, dishwasher emptied and refilled, breakfast whilst watching an old episode of Bargain Hunt (I like intellectual telly.  Hahahahaha) then I limbered up to tackle something that's been bugging me for ages and is well overdue....the nest of tables beside my chair in the garden room.  

These tables were bought with the plan that when visitors are here and sitting in the middle of the sofa (ie no access to the lamp tables at either end) one of the nest of tables could be produced for their coffee cup/ G&T/coke/cake / plate of biscuits/bowl of nibbles....you get the picture.  Well we've had these tables for six years and they have never fulfilled that purpose as they are groaning with the weight of my stuff!  *insert embarrassed face*

My to-be-read book pile (well one of them.  I have such piles all over the house!) laptop, crochet stuff, notebook, yarn holder, neck fan (a must for ladies my age :-) spec cases...I could go on.  There was also a box underneath the tables containing more books and RPS magazines and another load of notebooks containing all the notes from the RPS Photography courses I took on Zoom during covid.

Well not any more!  

I have cleared out the whole lot and what a difference it's made.  The corner of the room looks twice the size!  I have allowed myself three books,  my yarn bowl (it's china, very pretty and was a gift from a little welsh pottery. Plus I use it regularly so it has earned its place on the table. ) The other two tables are now clear and ready to be used for their original purpose.  Handy next week when the Golf Widows are here and looking for a resting place for their gins :-)

Had lunch then set about making a new tray bake to me...no bake peanut butter bars.  Easy peasy to make although the recipe stated Ritz crackers when my gut instinct was to use digestives, but I am always faithful to a recipe the first time I make it, so depending on the outcome I may change it next time.

More general tidying till D arrived back just after 4pm.  He was happy as his team came third (or as he put it, one point off second place :-))  There was dinner after the competition and he was full of fish and chips, cheesecake and wine!  He sat on the sofa and within seconds his eyes were closing.  I asked him if he was going to nod off and he said "no, I am merely reflecting on the day in order to help me become the best version of myself."  Hahahahahahahahaha - and he managed to say it with a straight face, just as he conked out! :-)

I retired to the kitchen and got my scones made for tomorrow.  They will rest happily in the fridge and I will put them in the oven just before my guests arrive. There were three little scones left over (ie they didn't fit on the tray) so I put them in the oven as a wee supper treat for D, me and Alan's support worker Vickie.  Also got the chocolate topping on the peanut butter slice.

Since D had dinner at the golf club I couldn't be bothered making dinner for one, so had toast and banana instead.  Hence Lola staring at me and providing my blip for today :-)

Heading to bed shortly ridiculously excited about my tidy nest of tables.  I need to get out more! 

Storm front coming

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.