Something old, something new

no sign of borrowed nor even blue.

Some time ago (days/weeks? you lose track) I did a shot of some concrete steps which were perfectly solid but had been walled off at the top, with a new, wider set made about 20' or so nearer town. Right beside them is a, roughly 6-car, disk-parking area which we use from time to time.
Every time we do, we look down the new set of steps, towards a barricaded passage-way and say "One of these days" ... Well! It's today.
They must have cleared the way through while were were wandering the wilds of Yorkshire. We used it today and, courtesy of the clearance of the way, were able to very nearly go in a straight(ish) line from A to B, which is novel in this fair Burgh.

The "new" is part of the "New Squares" development, as yet mostly unoccupied and in the main unclaimed by any firms/shops.
The old may well be the back of the "Two Lions" which I had heard was going to have a recent (HAH!) extension removed to reveal the original building. I say "may" because I/we were a touch disorientated by the new layout.

N.B. The system did not mark disorientated as incorrect and insist, as I expected, on the U.S. variant "disoriented".
With "disorientated" I, at least linguistically, know where I am: with "disoriented" I keep thinking I've had my East/Orient removed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.