BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: Second IVF day 17

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for nearly four years years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

Day two of the IVF injections, and all is going according to plan.

This weekend I am away from home and away from the husband with friends, so I had to bring my needles and things with me. I just chucked the right amount of stuff in a makeup bag and brought it along. No bother. I didn't bring my sharps bin - it is very bulky - but I was careful to put the lids back on the needles tightly and they will go straight in the sharps bin when I get home.

I didn't do this at any point last time, I was at home for the full span of the IVF. That was deliberate I think - well there was a lot of unknowns and I didn't know if I'd feel sick or emotional or what it would be like to administer the drugs so I avoided complicating things where I could.

This time I felt able to schedule in some time away because I was fairly confident that I would feel OK in myself and that the drugs requirements would be sufficiently routine so as not to get in the way. And that was right - it was fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.