Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

My favourite poker

A lot better today, with quite of bit of sunshine now and then. I've spent most of the day outside, weeding pots, top-dressing some and getting rid of others. I had hoped to plant some out, but the knees are playing up and making it hard to kneel down - maybe I should plant one pot per day!

I have two lots of plants waiting to find new homes - one bunch are going to Logan when we visit there in a couple of weeks and the others going to Achamore, on Gigha, when I can arrange for them to be picked up. It will help to reduce the number slightly!

My favourite Red Hot Poker is looking good now. I've Blipped it before - several times probably - but it's the only plant in the garden making a good show. It's Kniphofia rooperi, native to the East Cape of South Africa. It's quite hardy and later-flowering than many other pokers. I'd love to see it in the wild after finding the picture on this website - https://www.ballyrobertgardens.com/products/kniphofia-rooperi

Actually I do have another favourite poker, though I had to leave it behind, along with a few thousand other favourites, when I left Arduaine. It's Kniphofia 'Bees Lemon' , a beautiful yellow variety. You can see it here - https://www.crocus.co.uk/plants/_/kniphofia-bees-lemon/classid.2000021320/

We sat out in the sun for a while later in the afternoon, but soon after we came in it began to rain - just for a few minutes!  Weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.