Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Trills and Whistles

Early into my walk by the River Avon, back again by Eckington Bridge this morning, it was apparent Tilly and I weren't alone! In the reeds edging the water there was a hive of activity. Trills and whistles along with tiny flashes of brown flying across the path into the uncut meadow were fascinating to watch.

Buttercups, cow parsley, hogweed and sweet cicely cheek by jowl bumping and jostling in the breeze along with numerous grasses nearly to shoulder height, was an abundant feeding ground for these little birds. They kept bombing past with beak fulls of insects for their young in what must have been numerous nests.

Getting as near to the water as I could hidden by the flora and fauna I was more on the trail of the odd damselfly but struck lucky as this little sedge warbler started singing completely oblivious to my presence. The click of the camera soon gave me away and giving a startled,'tsek!' flew off away from it's nest across the meadow.

I will remember next time not to put shorts on to go by the river - even with wellies the nettles have grown high! No doubt about it I could have chased a few more insects - another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.