Maureen6002

By maureen6002

From moment to moment …

I remember the ubiquity of house sparrows when I was growing up, flocks of them gathering in my father’s beautifully tended garden. Until recently, they seemed scarcer visitors to our garden - but this year we seem to be overrun. 

G’s once perfect hedge is peppered with holes into which dozens of these charming little birds disappear when startled, only to poke their heads through inquisitively a minute or two later. They mob the feeders and spend hours playing in the little waterfall that runs down through the rockery into our tiny pond, enjoying every moment. 

This morning, we’d been to West Shore which was unusually uninspiring - my blip today initially being a man fishing for bass from the shoreline. However, this afternoon I catch sight of one of the sparrow gangs flitting back and forth at one of the feeders, wings backlit by the sun. I grab my camera, shooting through the conservatory window. I then move outside hoping to  continue and get clearer shots, but despite their usual boldness, my presence scares them off - and by the time they return the light has gone. 

So my less-than-perfect sparrow shots trump the morning’s fisherman as today’s blip. I really like the balletic pose of the sparrow in my main - but the extra of the three    In flight may well be the better shot. 

As for today’s title - it’s taken from a quote by Gandhi, following on quite nicely from Wednesday’s Carpe Diem 

"Look at the sparrows; they do not know what they will do in the next moment. Let us literally live from moment to moment. " - Mahatma Gandhi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.