Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Pics and more pics!

A wet day - one of many for a while, it seems. Yesterday I began titling the daily dated folders where I keep all my digital photographs. Some days I take just one or two pictures, for a Blip, and on other days I take dozens or hundreds depending on where I've been. I wish now that I'd titled the folders as I went along - I'm going to do this from now on!

Titling the images is quite another thing and generally I'm only doing that for the pictures I take in London, so they match up with my write-ups. 

I have a couple of thousand folders it seems, so I'm just going to title a few every day though I've already done 120!

After lunch I went out to fill the bird feeders which I do with the aid of a long bamboo with a hook in the end, as the feeders are up the bank. I got tangled up and brought the bar and feeders down, so had to scramble up the wet and slippery bank to fix it. This is when it began to rain, of course!

As I was already wet I decided to drive down to the Walled Garden to pick some runner beans - it's a week since I went and there were plenty coming on. Today there were loads - I picked another four and a half pounds. I think that by next weekend there'll be a lot more. I think I might have to give some away again as we're going away for a few days later this week and don't really expect to take runner beans with us!

As from this month we'll have one more year at Green Shoots. The garden has been bought by the new owner of Glencruitten House and he wants us out by September 2024. Such a pity - it's been a great Community Garden. Hope Kitchen is desperately trying to find somewhere else, but that's proving very difficult as you can imagine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.