Scarlett O'Hara

By scarlett

My New Best Friends...

...or yet another unexpected gift.

It all started this morning when the farmer (my landlord) came to plumb in my new washing machine. As he wouldn't let me 'help' I stood chatting to him and asked him if he knew of anybody who was looking to earn some extra money by coming to help me with the garden. Leave it with me, says he.

An hour later, a car pulls up and out tumbles, James and his two sons, Henry and George. This is Henry. They live in one of the other cottages on the farm and are all keen gardeners. From the car they pulled all manner of equipment and spent two hours ripping into the garden. What a sight. Henry turns a mean hand with this strimmer thingy.

I fed the boys on coke (the drink) and jaffa cakes while they worked. When they had finished for the day, I was mightily impressed with what they has acheived. They are lovely boys and are coming back each Saturday to do more.

So I have made three new friends, done all the backed up washing and have a tidy garden! What more could a woman want. Well, the boy's father is single.........

To round of my lovely day, I am off to watch the televisual feast that is Eurovision, so I won't be posting comments until tomorrow morning.

Douze points for today!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.