Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

While I was away I received a letter inviting me to take part in an NHS survey called Our Future Health. I decided to take part, filled in an online questionnaire and made an appointment at Boots for this morning. I was measured, had my blood pressure tested, did a fingerprick cholesterol test and donated two blood samples. 

This isn't about helping me, other than letting me know my height, weight, cholesterol etc, it's about helping future generations.  It's purpose is, and I quote "...to create one of the most detailed pictures ever of people’s health, which will transform the prevention, detection and treatment of common diseases."

I think it's worth doing, but I've already had a Club member recommending that I withdraw. There's a Guardian article that is urging extreme caution due to the sensitive nature of the information asked for, but I believe the potential benefits outweigh the possible risks. In any case there's a lot of information about me already out there due to my participation in the ONS Covid Infection Survey... and anyway I'm an optimist.

After the appointment I somehow managed to spend a lot of money in M&S, including a lovely Seasalt dress. Then I caught the bus, getting off early and walking the last mile home.

Later I did some work in the garden including cutting the grass and taking down the runner beans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.