A time for everything

By turnx3

Mono Monday: Joy

Music brings me great joy, a love that was implanted by my mother who was a pianist, teacher and accompanist. She taught at home, so I grew up with the frequent sound of the piano. Most days Mum would already be teaching when I got home from school, but she would usually have a short break at some point when we would have chance to talk. I grew up playing on a grand piano, and I was thrilled when we were finally able to buy one. Up until that time, we had an upright piano, which Mum and Dad lent us money to buy when we were first married, knowing how much I missed having one in the house that I could play. My Mum started teaching me the piano, but I wasn’t making a great deal of progress, partly because I didn’t have a set lesson time - Mum would make time for me around her other pupils, and it seemed like whenever she would find time to give me a lesson, my Dad would return from work - he worked long hours, and we never knew when he would be home. In those days it wasn’t simply a matter of putting something in the microwave to warm up, so Mum would break off my lesson to get Dad his dinner. My grandfather was living with us at that time, and he said he would pay for me to have lessons with someone else so I would have regular lessons, so I started going to Miss Clay who lived within walking Much later on when I was in grammar school, and the clarinet had become my main instrument at that time, I stopped my outside piano lessons, and Mum taught me for a few years, and sometimes we would play duets together.
My morning today was spent doing laundry, Duolingo and catching up on yesterday’s blip. Around midday, we went cycling on our usual trail, starting from South Lebanon, and doing 14.5:miles return. It was overcast today, but a very pleasant cycling temperature, and there were few other people on the trail, until we were reaching the end, and there was a local school cross-country team out running on the trail.
Step count: 3,688

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.