Colstro

By Colstro

Street Photography

For reasons I don't need to explain, I was unable to join my scheduled Zoom call this evening from home.  I therefore chose to join from the local pub, which had the advantage of a handy source of refreshment close by.

The call was an "Interactive Taster session" on Street Photography,  run by Simon Ellingworth for the Royal Photographic Society. It was a good event and covered a lot of ground.  Simon was a good presenter, very informative and entertaining and I confess I am quite tempted by his workshops.

A couple of takeaways struck a chord with me.  First, that we should take photographs for our own enjoyment and pleasure, not for anyone else (I totally agree with that).  Secondly, "street photography is a genre where sharpness is a bourgeois concept and cropping someone's head off adds a sense of tension".  That makes me feel a lot better about some of my attempts.

It was a good pint, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.