Capital adventures

By marchmont

Of a certain age

The phrase was used much today as the media reported the death of David MacCallum.  I am a member of that generation 'of a certain age' who was a fan in the 60's, Illya Kuryakin, much more watchable than Napoleon Solo.  The pictures on the news tonight took me right back to my early teens.  I never saw him in his later role in NCIS but it looks like he had a good and long life.  Certainly reminds you of your own mortality.

Another media story was the twitter/X thread of the nightmare journey from Preston Station to Edinburgh. I'd read the instalments yesterday and it was a truly terrible tale.  I did wonder what I'd have done if it had been me.  Probably tried to find a hotel.  Later, when I was in Cumbernauld, I came across another similar story - same day, earlier train and travelling to Glasgow.  This time it was the 55 strong party from Greenfaulds High in Cumbernauld who ended up having to source a coach (3 times the size Avanti could provide) and luckily were provided with cheap chips by a local chipper. Really scary stories.

I spent the day in the office which was very calm and full of people working.  I stopped off  at IKEA on the way home to pick up the desk for work.  Very efficient click and collect service.  Maybe they should run Avanti?

Back home I ate and watched tv.  I'm back in the back room.  The curtains may have to shut soon.  Watched the rest of 'The Following Events are Based on a Pack of Lies'.  Really enjoyed it and of course had links to work being about the way women are manipulated and gas lighted (lit?) by men.  And given the current discussions on misogyny it was very pertinent. 

But that led to a mad panic as with 3 minutes to spare I grabbed a blip of Willow, asleep under the table. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.