Marionb

By Marionb

Drawing For Art

I decided to take a break and get out of the garden. Our local art gallery's 30th Annual Drawing for Art event is in progress and I had not yet gone down to see the exhibit, so that was my outing for the day.

I have never taken part, but I hear that it is a really popular fund-raiser. Local artists donate a painting or work of art, you buy a ticket and on the night of the event, they draw tickets and when they draw yours, you have 2 minutes to pick one of the exhibited paintings... so you have to come prepared with a list of the ones you would like to own...Imagine if you were the first one drawn! Wow - you would get one you really liked....but ...what if you were last? heh heh.. No matter, it is all for a good cause.. 

Then I thought, there are more paintings than tickets sold, what if no-one picked yours? Ouch..that might hurt. At the end of the draw, though, you can buy any one of the remaining paintings for a set price...so that helps..and it would be really neat if everyone's work of art went to a good home... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.