The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Ready to play?

at midnight in the alley
a tomcat comes to wail
and he chants the hate of a million years
as he swings his snaky tail


...malevolent, bony, brindled
tiger and devil and bard
his eyes are coal from the middle of hell
and his heart is black and hard


...he will lie on a rug to-morrow
and lick his silky fur
he will veil the brute in his yellow eyes
and play he's tame, and purr

but at midnight in the alley
he will crouch again and wail
and beat the time for his demon's song
with the swing of his demon's tail.

Dom Marquis, 1878-1937

Hey, that poet had rhythm, man!

CleanSteve suggested I blip Bomble today. I'm a bit under the pollen, and have been working at getting together an early supper, because of Steve's meetings, and then a mail order package of face creams for a client. It's done now, and the evil feline is crouched beside me, on the table actually, gazing out into the gloaming and generally appearing at rest.

Isn't it great that it's past ten o'clock in England and I can still talk about the gloaming? Of course, no one will understand what I am on about, but I am used to that...

Sorry I have not looked or commented much lately. I am hoping normal service will resume. I've given up on the cider vinegar cure for hayfever, it's too nasty to drink!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.