The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Showing the flag

...at Box House, near Minchinhampton. THe grounds were open today as part of the village open gardens afternoon. I was struck by the tranquility of the location, and had an attack of big house envy. Truly, it would make a wonderful base for running writers' retreats / workshops! Just needs a cook, a gardener, a little help with the admin, and Bob est votr' oncle!

CleanSteve has written lovingly about the afternoon, so I don't have to. He has also blipped blue flag irises, so we have a complementary pair. This one was down by the trout pond, from where I could hear the distant strains of the Nailsworth Silver Band playing on the village green. We wandered up to see them play, but they had just taken their tea break, and were queueing up for posh ice cream, so I joined them. (Coffee and cardamom, if you must know!).

The strange thing about the Cotswolds in spring/ summer is that although I've been here nearly 20 years, I still feel as if I have stumbled into ye olde Cotswolde theme parke for overseas visitors. There really are Lords of the Manor, and cream teas, and people who chase cheeses down a hill with a 1 in 2 gradient, and well dressing ceremonies, and Tall Ships in Gloucester Docks ... of course there are also Food Banks, and beggars on the streets of Cheltenham, and moaning old ladies on the bus oh no, that's me. In any case, the feudal system wasn't great for the serfs. However,, if you want to see Uber-traditional Cotswolds, go to an afternoon of Open Gardens, or the Village Fete in a select little village, and prepare to be amazed! I will try to bring you the Bisley Flower show, if not the Cherington fete, later this year, to capture the flavour.

In other news, I made a birthday card. Not so amazing, maybe, but I haven't made one for months! I picked up a second hand book about colour and design during my 'street' tour of Gloucestershire for blip in April and, now that I've looked at it, I reckon it might help me get back my paper-and-card mojo. I have drawers and drawers of supplies and equipment, and I don't want them turning to dust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.