MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Ivy Visitors 28

Top of the ivy league today, the central image, is a robin. It has been singing its beautiful muffled sub-song to me from deep in the ivy bush all month. This is the first time that I've managed a shot of my friend. So pleased that I've photographed it before the month is out. Hoping to capture the wren too but I think that is unlikely.

I've included the grey fly with red eyes before but have added it today as I like its pink 'tummy'. It could be a dung fly. The ivy isn't buzzing now but ivy bees are still visiting in number to sup at the extrafloral nectaries. A pair are pictured. The Mirid was with the snail early this morning. After I took my shot it climbed onto the shell.

Great to spot a green lacewing larva carrying its rubbish again and an ant. Another Eupeodes luniger hoverfly. The seven spot ladybird has damaged elytra. It has enabled me to recognise this individual.

I've never seen a bumble bee with such bright blue pollen in her (males don't collect pollen) corbiculae.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.