Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

It' Monday so it must be badminton

This is what I do on a Monday. Been playing with this little group of friends for quite a few years now. We met at a Saturday morning adults badminton improvers class and have become very good friends ever since. It's funny how these things happen. I stumbled upon this class and decided to go on a bit of a whim. if I hadn't made that spot decision, we might never have met and how different my life would be, or would it? Was it fate that we should meet?

OK, enough philosophising. My trip to Grenoble is under threat thanks to industrial action by French air traffic controllers. My flight has been cancelled but there is a flight later the same day that is still going ahead. I'm just not sure it is worth going any longer and TBH, with everything I have on right now, I would probably prefer it if the meeting was cancelled. We will have to wait and see.

Over drinks in the pub tonight, Coral revealed that when she was 19, she was handed a stamped addressed envelope to put a brochure in. This was at work. The envelope was too small so she used one from the stores and returned the stamped addressed envelope with the brochure. When she got home that evening, she commented to Mick that the funny thing was the stamp on the stamped addressed envelope. It was missing the queens head. Mick was gobsmacked as he realised that such a stamp was probably rare and worth far more than its face value. As he pointed out, if Coral had realised the value of the stamp, they might be living a very different life and not sitting in a pub with the badminton quintet, or would they? Was it fate that we were always going to meet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.