ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Kraai', Westbroek

'Kraai' sounds like 'cry' but with a wider 'a', and means 'crow'.  Very apt.
'Westbroek' = 'West-brook' with a deeper and narrower 'oo'.

A very quick trip today as there was much to do at home -- laundry and ironing, supermarket errands before ánd after the hunt, kitchen duties, some colouring (finished a section I'd been anxious to do), some genealogy.  I would like to read later in bed, but right after posting this I will open my work laptop and do some prep work for Monday.  I'll be behind the wheel early tomorrow morning so it would be good to get some things out of the way.

Fab weather, no?  There was a thin veil of clouds loitering above the area for quite a long while, and then, suddenly, there were no clouds at all.  The Kraai is facing away from the sun, but that's always the risk.  This mill was built in Amsterdam in 1839 (it was already called The Crow even then) and then moved here in 1880, so 1880 is now recognized as the official year.  The previous mill was a lot smaller and at one point it was simply too out of order to be restored.

Can you spot the millers?

Thankful for long weekends.  It might be for this reason that I'm not jumping at the chance to work two more days, even as I know we could do with the extra income.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.