Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dancing with Danger

Yes, both hummingbirds are still here, to my great surprise.  They haven't been at the feeders as much today but I see them zooming around the flowers and at the edge of the woods.  I think they are probably taking a lot of small insects right now - protein for the long trip ahead.  Not to mention, they have to compete with the last of the wasps for the nectar.  This time of year, there are no young to tend in the wasp colonies and the workers are all in their final days, consumed only with finding sugar for themselves.  

Hubs went for a long bike ride this afternoon while Jax and I pottered around outside.  I think Jax is really enjoying having the freedom to wander around the back while I take photos, trim things, etc.  Of course, the minute I come inside, he wants to be inside too!  Velcro dog.  He saw something moving in the woods and barked a few times which is absolutely fine.  

Nothing new with Miss Thing - she's still just hanging out, not really doing anything.  I don't think she's eaten since she bred - maybe that's normal?  Meanwhile, the hyssop and asters are drawing lots of pollinators right now - bees, wasps and syrhpid flies.  Since the weather is going to be warm for the next week, I anticipate a lot of insect photography.  And I'm hoping warmer, dry weather will bring me some pain free/low pain days - all the better to take photos of tiny things!

Dark with caramel and sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

Post Script - and later in the afternoon, I spotted a huge Ground Hog near our storage shed (thankfully, outside of the fenced area!). I've seen this bruiser once before but had honestly forgotten how big he was - see Extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.