pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

NC500 planning

I must start by thanking fellow blippers, and Facebook friends for your kind wishes following my silly accident.

Today, I didn't wake up until 9.45. When I looked at my watch, bleary eyed, I was horrified at how late it was. Mum was already awake, and made me a cup of tea. My neck and head definitely feel a lot better today. I must have needed that long sleep.

So I got up and packed my bits away. Finished packing mums suitcases. Carried it all downstairs, and had my breakfast. While mum got dressed and ready, I gathered all the bags together, while having a long chat with Manda on the phone.

Packed the car (a squeeze in my mini) and eventually left at 12. Stopped at Brandon Tesco to buy a sandwich and a few more bits, then on to home, getting back about 4.

Settled mum in and tried to turn on the heating. The usual problems with an aged, unserviced oil boiler, but we got it going in the end. It's taking a while to warm up the whole house. I want to get it serviced when I can obtain permission from the owner!!

It was nice to see my family, and to see what Jon has been doing. Yesterday he spent the evening planning for a trip he is going to be taking in just over a week, with 2 of his oldest friends. Andy, who we went to the Lakes with last month, and for whom Jon managed the canoeing with, and another old friend Martin. Plans have been tentative for the last month, and have been changing due to unforseen circumstances, but now it looks like it has the green light, Jon has been putting pen to paper. He is really good at planning things like this, and already has an 8 day route mapped, campsites located, meals, food and a kit list already sketched out. Just some booking needed, and costing to do and they will all be set to go on a trip of a lifetime. The last time these 3 went on holiday together was an 18 -30s in the mid 1980s!! It will be documented daily, and I've said photos need to be sent back with details of each day. Jon's already been told the same by Mollie, and it is important for Andy's family and friends to be kept updated with each step, of course, where there is WiFi!

Jon had cooked a lovely roast and now a bit of tv before an early night for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.