If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Plague Stone

The church were holding a Macmillan Coffee Morning, so as we had no incoming guests at the Lodge Clickychick and I wandered across the glebe field to church.  Lots of people were at the coffee morning, I even met up with my stockman who I don't think I have seen since he retired.

On the way back across the glebe field I saw the plague stone and thought "I haven't blipped that".  Compared to the one which used to stand in town it is tiny, but then so would the village have been.  It is thought the stones were filled with vinegar in an attempt to sterilise coins during various waves of the plague.  According to the plaque Greystoke suffered several waves of plague, with the district losing 2,210 individuals. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.